Movie: Trumbo

Okay, I confess that I’d never heard of Dalton Trumbo but I had heard of the House Un- American Committee that trawled through Hollywood looking for Communist sympathizers.  I only watched the first series of Breaking Bad, so I have only warm feelings towards Bryan Cranston, who was wonderful in this movie. I kept looking at Helen Mirren, wondering if it was her or not (it was), and I enjoyed the re-creation  of black-and-white film vision which was inserted into the movie at various times.  I was amazed to think that the HUAC was only finally terminated in 1975. And I’m sure that it’s no surprise that the movie was produced during a time of surveillance and judicial control of radical Islam and ‘Un-American’ activities.

One response to “Movie: Trumbo

  1. I take you at your word about the HUAC only being disbanded in 1975. Extraordinary.

Leave a Reply

