Swanning around

I headed down to the caravan at West Rosebud for a lovely day by the seaside.  My family has gone down there for the past fifty-six years.  Unfortunately Mr Judge is not a beach person, which saddens me, because I’d love to spend a week or two down there, especially once the crowds go.

But what’s with all the black swans? There’s often one or two swans doing swanny things, but I’ve never before seen quite this many.

swans

As I am the fount of all wisdom about conical sand-snails, I felt duty-bound to investigate the presence of so many black swans, so up to the Rangers’ Office I went. Apparently they are attracted to the sea-grass beds which have grown particularly well this year.  The mild weather leading up to Christmas has also encouraged them.

swans3

I didn’t realize that there were so many swans in Port Phillip.  However, I’ve since learned Swan Bay is across the bay on the Bellarine Peninsula opposite, so named by Matthew Flinders for the huge number of black swans he found there. Apparently they continue to frequent the place in their thousands.

I’m quietly amused at the title of David Mitchell’s book Black Swan Green, and the excitement with which something is acclaimed as a “black swan event”.  There’s nothing unusual about a black swan in Australia.

 

 

Leave a Reply

