2015 in review and a new feature!

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2015 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 36,000 times in 2015. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 13 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

Ah! The posting about the eggs of the conical sea-snail- the blog-post that keeps on giving! Who would have thunk that so many people wondered what the squishy jelly on the beach was?

I’ve been blogging since July 2008 and like any long-term endeavour, my blog has changed direction over those eight years. It started as a research blog to support my thesis on Justice John Walpole Willis, the first Resident Judge of the Supreme Court of NSW in the Port Phillip District. Hence the name,  “The Resident Judge of Port Phillip” which I must confess is rather cringe-inducing at times. The blog has since become a repository for book reviews and comments about films I’ve seen, the odd history-based discussion, and observations about life in Melbourne now.

I’ve decided as a New Years Resolution (and we all know how long they last!) to start a weekly feature looking back at what was happening in Melbourne and the Port Phillip District more generally 175 years ago. Why 175 years? Because that’s when the first Resident Judge was appointed, and a Resident Judge continued to preside between 1841-1852, when the position of Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria was gazetted. That gives me eleven years of posts, should I not abandon the project (which may yet come to pass!): twelve if I want to extend it to the actual issuing of the formal commission.

Meanwhile, the book reviews and commentaries on film, history generally and Melbourne in particular will continue.

6 responses to “2015 in review and a new feature!

  1. Congratulations, Janine – and good luck with the weekly updates on early Melbourne, they should be fun.

  2. Ooh, I like the idea of the new feature.
    But I also really like your reviews of history books. I don’t always buy the books to read them myself, but I feel better informed because I always learn something from your discussion about them.
    So this is a good opportunity to thank you for your efforts in blogging, I know I’m not the only one who appreciates your quiet hours at the computer to bring your readers something new and worthwhile!

  3. Agree with Lisa about the book reviews. Your new feature sounds fscinating so I will look forward to what you uncover.

    • Thank you! And you know, I’m rather looking forward to it too. (I’ll probably deny I ever said this in six months time)

Leave a Reply

