Australian Women Writers Challenge 2015 wrap up

aww-badge-2015-200x300.

Well, I probably should have posted this ages ago because I met the challenge some time earlier.  I had vowed to concentrate on histories written by Australian women, and I didn’t do particularly well at that. A resolution for 2016 perhaps? Nonetheless… here’s the wrap-up, roughly in the order in which I read them,  for what it’s worth.

Fiction

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Indelible Ink by Fiona McGregor

Heat and Light by Ellen van Neerven

Foreign Soil by Maxine Beneba Clarke

A Short History of Richardby Klein by Amanda Lohrey

The Anchoress  by Robyn Cadwallader

The Girl with the Dogs by Anna Funder

The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop

Only the Animals by Ceridwen Dovey

Medea’s Curse by Anne Buist

The Fine Colour of Rust by P. A. O’Reilly

Nine Days   by Toni Jordan

The Strays by Emily Bitto

Charades by Janette Turner Hospital

Non-Fiction

In Good Faith? Governing Indigenous Australia through God Charity and Empire 1822-1855 by Jessie Mitchell

Restless Men: Masculinity and Robinson Crusoe 1788-1840 by Karen Dowling

This House of Grief by Helen Garner

The Invisible History of the Human Race by Christine Keneally

Melbourne by Sophie Cunningham

Savage or Civilized? Manners in Colonial History by Penny Russell

The Hanged Man and the Body Thief: Finding Lives in a Museum Mystery by Alexandra Roginsky

The Boyds: a family biography by Brenda Niall

Warrior by Libby Connors

3 responses to “Australian Women Writers Challenge 2015 wrap up

  1. I did a wrap up roughly when I finished my challenge – i.e. around 10 books – but this Monday’s musings will be my final wrap up. I think I’ll have read roughly the same number as you have.

    I don’t know about your meeting your own challenge to yourself but you’ve done very well for AWW. Thanks for supporting the challenge and adding your reviews to our database.

    • Thank you. The reason I keep vowing to read more history written by Australian historians is to keep it out there for a bit longer.

  2. Great wrap up post RJ. I should do one too. I can’t believe that yet another year has ended and I still haven’t read Burial Rites…. You’ve many there that I meant to read at some stage.

Leave a Reply

