The Strays and my missing reviews

Reader, I haven’t felt much like writing lately.  I must confess that most of the reviews I’ve posted since early November have been “a little something I whipped up earlier” as the cooking shows might say.  They have been bobbing around in my drafts folder and I’ve been pulling them out, and dusting them down before posting them here.

Except that WordPress has changed their ‘Blog Posts’ function. When I post a pre-prepared review, it seems to be inserted at the date when I first wrote it rather than on the top of the blogroll at today’s date.  I fiddled around with some of the last posts and managed to get it to show first on the page, but I don’t know how I did it.

And so, I did write a review of Emily Bitto’s The Strays and if you want to read it, click here and it will take you back to November.

2 responses to “The Strays and my missing reviews

  1. I’ve had reviews publish on a date of their own choosing too (though not recently), and I don’t know why it happens because I’m not aware of doing anything different to make it happen.
    Be kind to yourself, my friend, and let blogging come back into your life when you’re ready. For me, it’s mostly a welcome distraction, but some of the time I just can’t do it, or anything else much either. Grief is, I think, a bit like depression, in the way that it messes with your mind.

  2. I had this problem a few months ago – save a copy before you publish it. I think this is what I learnt… It publishes at the last saved date.
    Now, I look forward to reading your review of The Strays!

Leave a Reply

