Movie: Far from the Madding Crowd

I hadn’t seen the 1960s version of Far from the Madding Crowd, nor have I read the book.  I really had no idea what it was about, although I assumed (correctly as it turned out) that it would be yet another of Thomas Hardy’s Wessex tales. I’d enjoyed Tess of the D’Urbervilles as a first-year university student in the 1970s; came out thoroughly depressed from the movie Jude based on Jude the Obscure and I’ve never read The Mayor of Casterbridge.

Carey Mulligan is luminous, as she always is.

My rating: 4 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

