Movie: Madame Bovary

I don’t really think of myself as a retired person, but I suppose that I am. And what does a retired person do but go to the movies during the week, taking advantage of Miserly Monday or Tight-Ass Tuesday to avoid paying full price to watch a movie?

I’d wanted to see this for some time, and it’s now listed as ‘final days’ at Cinema Nova (my cinema of choice). I read the book at uni some 35 years ago but I don’t remember seeing any other movie adaptation of Madame Bovary.  I remembered the plot, theme and the characterization (especially of Emma) but was not particularly aware of the setting, beyond the boredom it induced in her.

Film captures setting beautifully and this is certainly the case in this book.  Village life  was muddy and it was a much smaller village than I remembered: just a single street in effect.  The houses were dimly lit at night, and rather grubby.  Emma was fetchingly decked out in orange in many scenes and, set against the forested setting, the framing of many shots reminded me of a pre-Raphaelite painting.

It was a very quiet movie and rather emotionally dead.  I expected to shed a tear (I am an emotional old thing, after all), but I felt oddly detached from her fate.

My rating:  3 out of 5.

2 responses to “Movie: Madame Bovary

  1. Noone much seems to like it really. I’d still like to see it. And why not go on the cheap days?

Leave a Reply

