Vale Wisteria….

It’s never good when things go BANG at 7.00 a.m. on a drizzly, humid Saturday morning in January.

Oh dear. Not good at all.  Down came the pergola on the back deck, weighed down no doubt by about fifteen years’ growth of wisteria.   I had noticed the previous day that it was very dark out there, and didn’t realize how thick the leaves had become on the top of the pergola.  We used to prune it fairly hard to stop it getting up into the roof- but obviously not quite hard enough.

My wisteria gave me much pleasure.  Sure, it dropped blossom and covered the deck with its purple haze, but it smelled beautiful and the bees loved it.

We spent all weekend pulling it down.  The pergola had rotted underneath it- in fact, I suspect that the wisteria was holding up the pergola rather than the other way round.  It looks very bare and glare-y out there.  I’ve had to cover the fern with a sheet. I think I shall call it Miss Havisham.

I used to love how green and cool it was under the pergola in summer looking out from the kitchen sink.  Not quite the same now.

My deck and the large sliding doors leading into the dining room face north, so I’m keen to have another pergola with a deciduous vine, to get the winter sun and shade in summer.  I’m thinking an ornamental grape, hoping that it doesn’t have quite the voracious wandering habit of the wisteria.

But, oh dear, I do grieve its loss.  Yes, I know- first world problem.

5 responses to “Vale Wisteria….

  1. Your wisteria was gorgeous – no wonder you’re sorry to see it go. An ornamental grape will be beautiful too and maybe you could try growing a new wisteria in a pot, over a frame of its own? It won’t be the same,of course, but you’ll still get the scent and at least some flowers. First world problems are still problems, after all.

  2. My sister has an ornamental grape in a similar location, outside the kitchen window on a pergola, but above the vine is a perspex roof, and so the grape vine drips condensation water onto the table and and area below. Sad that you have lost your wisteria.

    • I’d like to avoid perspex if I can. The wisteria was so thick that if it was raining lightly, it was still fairly dry underneath (within limits obviously). I saw the photo on your blog of your sister’s vine and thought how lovely and cool it looked under there
      – I’m glad it was an ornamental grape because I was wondering if it was a fruiting grapevine (or whatever you call a real grapevine).

  3. Oh dear, such a sad way to lose such beautiful flowers and shade! Reminds me of my Mum’s Wisteria which had colonized the branches of an old dead pear-tree. Beautiful flowers and pleasant foliage. One windy night, down it all came, all on top of the Hill’s hoist. Such a job disentangling and removing it all, and I don’t think the clothes-line was ever quite straight afterwards…
    We had a beautiful Banksia Rose which got into the sewer and had to come out, after a very sordid episode involving Melbourne Water, machinery, and deep excavations. Do check the habits of any replacement creeper before you plant it.

  4. Pingback: A pergola anniversary | The Resident Judge of Port Phillip

Leave a Reply

