Pudding people first at Christmas

magicpudding

I have had half of last years Christmas pudding in the freezer all year. “Must eat that pudding sometime” I’d think each time it tumbled out. So here I was in December, thinking about Christmas lunch, wondering if it would be TOO bad to serve up half an elderly pudding? I decided that perhaps, all things considered, it might be.  The reality is that I’m the only person in the family who really likes plum pudding, which is why there was probably half a pudding in the freezer in the first place.    Did I really want to make another pudding only to add yet another half-pudding to the freezer?  (I suppose at this rate, by Christmas 2015 I’d have a whole pudding in two bits!)

Then I spied a recipe in the Age for a Christmas Bombe.  That sounds interesting- a mashup of pannetone, ice-cream, plum pudding and pavlova. Delicious or disgusting?  It looked good in the picture.

JM-wide2-bombe-20141209120837749359-620x0

So by Christmas morning, there was a  pannetone-lined basin filled with plum-pudding icecream securely tucked away in Dad’s freezer (my freezer is too full of old puddings, you see….) ready for the great bombe-ing later in the day.  The table was set, waiting for my guests.

IMG_1209a

So, first thing to get the pudding out of the bowl.

IMG_20141225_144805a

Sh*t! It won’t come out!!!

IMG_20141225_144858a

Oh yes it did. (Phew!)

IMG_20141225_144942a

Now the great smothering with meringue.

IMG_20141225_145020a

IMG_20141225_145204a

Someone can always be trusted to clean the bowl and lick the beaters. (In this case, my 85 year old father!)

IMG_20141225_145336a

Hey, this doesn’t look too bad.

IMG_20141225_145330a

Now, for the Great Flaming.   I don’t have a kitchen blowtorch, but my stepson has two.  Not kitchen ones, though.  Which shall I go for?  The industrial-strength flame-thrower? Or the little one?

IMG_1214a

Will the big one shoot my pudding into the venetian blinds, incinerating us all?  Will the small one take an hour as a feeble flicker s-l-o-w-l-y adds a tinge of colour to the meringue?

I’m not brave.  The little one it is.

IMG_20141225_145509a

If I’m going to immolate myself as well as the pudding, you’re all coming with me.

IMG_20141225_145501a

Damn. We’ve forgotten how to turn the blowtorch off.  Oh well, it will run out of gas soon.

IMG_20141225_145556a

And here it is!!

IMG_20141225_145849a

Guess what? I’ve got half a Christmas Bombe in the freezer.  But, unlike Albert, the  Magic Pudding, this cut-and-come-again pudding probably won’t still be here this time next year.

After all, now that we have an Andrews Labor Government,  it’s all about pudding.

16 responses to “Pudding people first at Christmas

  1. ROTFL, this is the best Christmas post I’ve seen anywhere.
    I loooove Christmas pudding, so even though, yes, I too have half a pud left over, it will all be gone by New Year. Christmas pud and cold custard makes an excellent lunch, a superb afternoon tea, a brilliant snack while watching after-dinner TV, even an occasional midnight feast.
    And then when the indulgence is over, it is (supposed to be) back to healthy living…

    • Well, as it happens, I DID thaw last year’s pudding just in case this one turned into an irretrievable failure. Guess I’ll just have to eat it now. I like plum pudding with very thinly sliced cheese. Why not add One Very Good Thing to another.

  2. For easy extraction – Before putting pudding in basin, line basin with straps of alfoil, with ends hanging over edge. Pudding can be extracted by laying chilled plate over basin and inverting the whole. Lift off basin and unpeel the alfoil – then you can do the meringue bit.
    Our Christmas pudding is even easier. Line basin with sponge cake (after alfoil business) Sprinkle thoroughly with mixture of raspberry juice and any suitable liqueur. Fill with mixture of raspberries (previously packed with a bit of icing sugar) and whipped cream. Freeze or not, as you please. Always rapturously received. (Jane Grigson’s recipe for Florentine Summer Pudding)
    Someone else brought a conventional Christmas pudding. On Boxing Day Brian fried a slice of it in butter for breakfast.
    Happy New Year!

    • Alfoil- that’s a better idea. I had gladwrap, but it disappeared down the side of the pudding bowl a bit. I love summer pudding.

  3. Great story Janine – new career when the thesis is in perhaps? I too love pudding. Of the 10 at our dinner, unfortunately 7 of us ate pudding so unlike last year I have none in the freezer. (We usually have it around Easter when it starts to get cool again). We always make a dessert for the non-pudding eaters, and this year Hannah made a Green Tea Jelly with Lychees and Lime Syrup. It went down a treat though wasn’t quite as spectacular as your Bombe. (I gave Len a kitchen blowtorch a couple of years ago for Creme Brûlées etc. Not strong enough, so he usually gets his stronger one from the garage – like the one you used, not your big fully industrial one!)

  4. artandarchitecturemainly

    re both this post and the last one, of course we were a British founded nation and follow the Westminster system of government still. But we have been a sovereign nation since 1/1/1901. Clinging onto old northern hemisphere customs is a bit dated, and inappropriate. What Australian child has ever seen snow? especially snow in mid summer?

    We can make beautiful, festive food that is light and seasonally appropriate. Even cold food can be delicious ! So pannetone, ice-cream, plum pudding and pavlova is a brilliant idea.

  5. The creation looks impressive. I had a good laugh, thanks.

  6. Loved this post Janine – I had a good laugh 🙂 I read out the choice bits to other family members. Lovely photos to accompany it too.

    Most of our family don’t like dried fruit so Christmas pudding is only for a select few but they make up for the non-eaters. Christmas puddings don’t last that long in the freezer in our family. But cheese on Christmas pudding!!! That rivals my habit of eating left-over cold lasagne for breakfast when I was a child.

  7. As a child? I have (ahem) been known to cut off the odd slice of cold lasagne from the fridge.

  8. Loved the post Janine. As a child, left over pudding was sliced, butter scraped on top and then sugar sprinkled on to the butter. The slice [s] were then placed under the griller to brown. Delicious with ice cream as it melted over the crispy topped pudding slice.

    • That

    • That sounds good….and as it happens I still have the thawed half a pudding from Christmas 2013-2014 in the fridge. Somehow I don’t think isliced pudding, butter and sugar will fit into my 500 calories on a fast day though!

Leave a Reply

