AHA Rethinking Indigenous Histories podcast

You might remember that I blogged about the Rethinking Indigenous Histories panel at the recent AHA conference that I attended in Wollongong.

The podcast of the session is now available at Radio National’s Big Ideas page.

The panel, chaired by Richard Broome, Emeritus Professor of History at La Trobe University  included:

Professor John Maynard
Director of the Wollotuka Institute of Aboriginal Studies, University of Newcastle. He is a Worimi man from the Port Stephens region of New South Wales and currently holds an ARC Australian Research Fellowship (Indigenous).
Professor Tim Rowse
School of Humanities and Communication Arts, University of Western Sydney
Professor Marcia Langton AO
Foundation Chair of Australian Indigenous Studies at the University of Melbourne
Professor Ann McGrath
Director of the Australian Centre for Indigenous History at the Australian National University.
4 responses to “AHA Rethinking Indigenous Histories podcast

  1. Thanks for this link Janine!

  2. Thanks for this news.

    • It’s funny- I often listen to the radio at night if I wake up until it lulls me back to sleep. I turned the radio on the other night and started dreaming that I was talking with Richard Broome- then realized that it was the podcast of the AHA session. I must admit that I dropped off asleep again, but I’ve downloaded to listen to when I’m actually awake!

      • That’s not a session I would have thought would lull anyone to sleep!

        This week I attended the History and Media Symposium in Sydney. There was a great panel of people who produced radio documentaries (Radio National of course). It made me think more about the power of radio and how I, as a teenager, used to enjoy listening to a Sunday night serial with the lights off.

Leave a Reply

