‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn

gonegirl

2012, 395 p.

I always keep a bit of an eye on the Book Scan results of bookshop sales that appears in the Saturday paper.  I’ve noticed Gone Girl bobbing around on the Independent list and –lo and behold!- last week it made it to No.1   However, I haven’t seen anyone reading it, or heard of anyone else who’s read it.  But obviously lots of people have read it, because after reading a glowing review of it in August last year, I put a hold on it at my local library.  Number 63 I was, on ten copies.  Finally, it was my turn.

And I can tell you nothing about it.  Except, perhaps, that it involves a disappearance, and that it is written in alternating chapters, all tethered chronologically back to the day of the disappearance.  Beyond that, I’ll give too much away and I don’t want to do that.  The book just teetered on the edge of implausibility, but didn’t fall over, and each time I started “Hey, but what about….” the author had anticipated my objections.  While not high literature, and probably 1/3 too long, I found it a real page-turner- and hey, we can all enjoy one of those every now and then.

If you can’t stand waiting as No 63 in line, don’t worry- apparently it’s already been optioned as a movie with Reese Witherspoon as one of the lead actors, and it’s absolutely tailor-made for Hollywood.  I’m not quite sure how they’re going to do it- lots of voiceovers, perhaps and  done well, it should be a winner.

My rating: a rather guilty 9/10. Dammit, I could barely put the thing down.

Sourced from: The long waiting list at Yarra Plenty Regional Library

Read because: It has been on the best seller list for ages.

2 responses to “‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn

  1. I know a number of people who’ve read Gone Girl and they’ve all really enjoyed it. It’s nice to hear another enthusiastic report. There are only two reserves at my library (on two copies), perhaps I’ll just buy it if I get to a loose end?

    • I could think of worse ways to spend your money. Then you can lend it to people who are waiting for it at the library!

Leave a Reply

