My best reads for 2012

The end of year is the time for lists, no?  Well, here’s my list of my best  10 reads for 2012.  I only give a rating for fiction books generally, although one or two non-fictions crept in here because they were read as an escape from the thesis.

There was only one book to which I awarded a ’10’

1. ‘Good Evening Mrs Craven’ by Mollie Panter-Downes

The other nine received a score of ‘9’.  Three of these were from my CAE bookgroup- none chosen by me- which is a good reason for continuing to participate, quite apart from the friendships there.

2. ‘Drinking Coffee Elsewhere’ by Z. Z. Packer (Yes- a collection of short stories made it onto the ‘best’ list! CAE)

3. ‘Otherland’ by Maria Tumarkin

4. ‘Mateship with Birds’ by Carrie Tiffany

5. ‘Bright and Distant Shores’ by Dominic Smith

6. ‘London War Notes 1939-1945’ by Mollie Panter-Downes  (non-fiction)

7. ‘How To Live’ (A life of Montaigne)’ by Sarah Bakewell  (non-fiction)

8. ‘All That I Am’ by Anna Funder

9. ‘When Will There Be Good News’ by Kate Atkinson (CAE)

10. ‘Water Under the Bridge’ by Sumner Locke Eliot. (CAE)

8 responses to “My best reads for 2012

  1. The only book on your list that the book club tackled was ‘All That I Am’ by Anna Funder. Everyone enjoyed the experience of reading the book privately and the experience of discussing it collectively.

    • My book club takes a year or two to get round to reading current books, so I’m anticipating it coming up in about 2014! I usually try to read the shortlist for the Miles Franklin, but I don’t always manage it.

  2. I’ve read some of these (Mateship with Books, All That I Am and When Will There Be Good News) and agree that they are very fine books.
    I’m interested in your high ranking for Otherland, I have had Traumascapes on my TBR for far too long, and must get to it soon …

  3. Thanks for your list RJ … I always enjoy reading people’s lists and seeing what I should, perhaps, have read. I have the Funder and TIffany on my TBR pile! Is that close enough?

    I don’t think I gave anything 10, but I have a few 9s.

    • Ah! The pile! I’m busy creating one for these holidays- if I get through just the top layer, I’ll be doing well. I was interested to find that I had a patch of ‘9’s earlier in the year, with slimmer pickings as the year went on. I don’t know whether that reflects the books, or me!

Leave a Reply

