Laugh?

At our bookgroup (i.e. the Ladies Who Say Oooh)  last month we were talking about comedy in books.  The book we were reading, “Two Caravans”,  was billed as humourous, but I really didn’t find it very funny at all.  I commented that there are very few books that I have actually laughed out loud at.  Two that do come to mind are Clive James’ “Unreliable Memoirs” and Denise Scott’s “All that Happened at Number 26“- both of which had me laughing out loud, almost to the point of tears. We dourly vowed that we’d monitor our laughing at books for the rest of the year- a resolution that’s almost certain to deaden any mirth at all for the remainder of 2011!

I don’t think of myself as a humourless person, but I just don’t seem to do it very often when I’m reading.  Perhaps I do- it will be interesting to see.  I laugh at television and in movies, although come to think of it,  I rarely choose to go to a ‘funny movie’.  I think that I often laugh during conversations, and I quite enjoy listening to radio comedy.  I’m really looking forward to seeing Tim Minchin in a fortnight or so, but I think he’s one of the few comedians that I’ve actually seen live.  Of course, there’s laughing and laughing- can I categorize it?  Surely this is a truly kill-joy endeavour…

1.The little sub-vocalized ‘hmmph’ with a raising of the shoulders

2. Breaking into a smile with a little chuckle

3. Laughing out loud- head thrown back, shoulders shaking

4. Extended laughing out loud, perhaps with tears! or perish the thought- a little snort!- subsiding into chuckles then bursting out again.

And I often laugh at watching other people laugh.

 

5 responses to “Laugh?

  1. You can’t help but laugh at her laughing. We were passing a laughing club in a park once, with glum and grumpy expressions on our faces, but we only lasted a few seconds before we were grinning from ear to ear.

  2. On our way to Saturday morning shopping through Fawkner Park. We should all try to have a good laugh every day.

  3. Nice post Janine. I’ve been thinking about reading and laughing recently. I can’t remember when I last got read belly-laughs from a book – rather than, say, delighted chuckles. I think it might have been David Niven’s first autobiography which I read over 35 years ago. No, surely there’s been something since then. Clearly I need more 3s and 4s in my life – and this video provided a great start. Good for them!

  4. Pingback: ‘Every Secret Thing’ by Marie Munkara | The Resident Judge of Port Phillip

Leave a Reply

