‘The King’s Speech’

It had been a sad, strained Christmas Day for us this year, and so off to the movies we went for Boxing Day, along with many other burghers of the leafy suburbs over the Yarra.  We were sitting in probably the closest seats to the screen, and  who should be sitting behind us in the second closest seats to the screen but my good friend M.

The movie featured bravura performances from both Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush.  The embarrassment of the then-Duke of York’s speech at Wembley Stadium is still excruciating, and the movie succeeds brilliantly in channelling your attention away from the content of what he was trying to convey to a minute, breath-holding fixation on how he was saying it.  The casting was inspired  all round: you could see flashes of our present Queen in the young girl cast as the Princess Elizabeth, and Helen Bonham-Carter captures the vivacity of the woman we came to know as the Queen Mother before she became embalmed in dress coats and ostrich feathers.

It strikes me that poor Bertie was more exposed by live radio technology then than he would be today with almost effortless sound editing.  Unfortunate, really.

Still, I can’t help wondering if “the firm” is not doing a job on us all through cinema- first Helen Mirren in The Queen, and now this movie.  How cynical I am.

9 responses to “‘The King’s Speech’

  1. Janine, I think your blog needs a “Like” button as with Facebook, for when – as so frequently happens – I want to indicate my enjoyment of your post, but don’t necessarily have an erudite comment to make in response.

    • Ah, but you responded anyway!! A ‘like’ button…. I wonder if there’s any such thing in WordPress? I often see things on other people’s blogs and wonder how they got them, or what they’re called.

      • Yes, there is, I have a Like button on my WordPress blog and I get quite excited on the rare occasions when anyone uses it. I like to think that it isn’t used much because people don’t notice it rather than because they dislike what I’ve written.
        Anyway, you need to go into settings somewhere and enable it.
        (And I’ll Like yours if you’ll Like mine LOL.)
        Lisa

  2. Oooh dear, I just found a like button, but I wonder if it’s visible to anyone else. I had to log into the post itself, and then a button “You like this ” came up with a horrific looking avatar. Ye Gods- I must find another one.

  3. I’ve found your like button, Lisa, but as with my blog, you need to click on the actual blogpost to see it – it’s not there if you just go to the home page. I have left my disagreeable little ‘like’ face on your Doctorow post, I think. If that’s the ‘like’ face, then I hate to think what a ‘dislike’ face might look like!

  4. There are two Like features on mine, Janine…
    At the top of the post you can click the number of stars you give the post. Someone (not you?) has ranked it 5 stars.
    Down at the bottom of the post there’s a little box with a star (no yukky gravatar!) and someone (you?) has clicked it because it tells me that one person likes the post.
    You can change your gravatar to something you like if you go into your dashboard and edit your profile. It takes a bit of fiddling about because it needs to be very small (mine is about about 100 pixels square). Once you’ve done it, you can use it on any WordPress blog and it will associate itself with you.

  5. I tried to like your post, but you have to log in to wordpress to do it (I blog on blogger, so don’t have a wordpress log in, and I’m sorry I’m not going to get one just so I can click some like buttons- latent curmudgeon that I am), perhaps that is a big reason why people infrequently use the like button.

    I saw this movie yesterday and LOVED it. So well done. It was very odd to be one of the youngest members of a cinema going audience. It’s only playing at one cinema in Newcastle- the very same one that wouldn’t let me in to See Saturday Night Fever in 1978 when I was underage (and the reason I haven’t seen the movie to this day). It was rewarding to see that they hadn’t changed the decor, or the seats, since I was refused entry either.

    I do wonder at your conspiracy theories though Janine. Could well be true. I haven’t got around to seeing The Queen yet, although I borrowed it from my mother at least 2 years ago.

  6. LOL Louise … and I’m not going to use my blogger login on yours just so I can receive comments! The whole thing is really irritating. I do have a blogger login because the first blog I created – for my reading group – was in blogger. BUT when I leave comments on blogger blogs, I want to leave them with my wordpress name because that’s where my personal blog is. The result is that I am unable to receive notification when others comment on your (blogger) blog and therefore am unable to engage in any ongoing conversation. Irritating in the extreme.

  7. Oh, and I must say that I am not a conspiracist. I think that a lot of things that people think might be conspiracy are coincidence (in cases like this) or laziness/disorganisation. There are conspiracies I know but I think there are less than we think. But then, you know me, I’m a bit Pollyanna-ish.

Leave a Reply

